Running News

Information about running in General

Springtime Orienteering

The Western Eagles Orienteering Club are hosting some introductory orienteering days this spring around Galway. These are great days out for all the family & are great value too. The first session is being held this Sunday in Crestwood Park & is open to everyone.

Olive Loughnane to Receive Gold for World Championships

With the ongoing fallout from the doping scandal in Russian athletics it looks increasingly likely that Loughrea AC’s Olive Loughnane will be belatedly awarded 1st position, a gold medal & title of World Champion for her efforts in the 20k Walk at the 2009 World Championships in Berlin.

Finishing in silver position on the day, 50 seconds behind Russia’s Olga Kaniskina, the Cork native was delighted with her performance on the day but the now retired athlete can be proud of the fact that she is a world champion on merit even if the lateness of the news is bittersweet.

Fifty (Years) Not Out - Ron Hill!

Ron Hill ran a few miles today to get to 50 years not out, running every single day in that time for at least one mile.  A true legend of our sport!

See the BBC article here on the 5KM event he ran today to complete the streak.

Ron was In Galway at least once (probably twice) in recent times and a few members of Athenry AC got to meet him and his wife on at least one of the occasions, Dave Dunne and Martin Keane amongst others - see above.

AIT Baseline Indoor T&F Meet

AIT Baseline Indoor T&F Meet, Wednesday December 17th, AIT, 7pm start.
Athlone IT AC currently invites entries to the 2nd annual ‘AIT Baseline Indoor T&F Meet’ from athletes looking to lay down a marker for the coming indoor season.
This will be a low-key event where athletes will have the opportunity to test themselves over several non-standard distances on the state-of –the-art Athlone IT International Arena facility.  Electronic timing will be available. 

Tommy Madden Perpetual Trophy & Medal

In honour of their father, who passed away earlier this year, the family of Tommy Madden have kindly donated two perpetual trophies for the first male & female winners of the Fields of Athenry 10km road race which is held every St Stephens Day in the town. To go along with that they have ordered exact replicas of their fathers very last national cross country medal which he won in 1966 & these will also be presented to the male & female winners of the race going forward.

Athenry Runners To 'Tidy Up' This Christmas

With the 13th edition of the Fields of Athenry 10km road race fast approaching, Athenry AC have announced that they will once again be partnering with the Athenry Tidy Towns Committee for their popular annual event.

As previously, a portion of the proceeds of the race will go to supporting the ongoing work of Athenry’s Tidy Towns Committee. With the race expected to attract its largest field ever - perhaps in excess of 1,500 runners & walkers - it will doubtless be one of the largest sporting events that the town will host this year.


Subscribe to RSS - Running News