National 10K Road Race Results and Report - PRESS RELEASE

Published in Club News on 21st April 2008

Press Release

Press Enquiries to: Mick Rice (Athenry AC) Ph: 087 2896989 or by
email at [email protected] .

For Immediate Use

Orla O'Mahony and Seamus Power claimed individual gold medals in
Athenry at the AAI National Championships on Sunday, 20 April.
The women's winner, in the colours of Raheny Shamrocks, was well
clear of he nearest rival Caitriona Jennings, representing
Rathfarnham, who was a minute and a half further back. Gladys
Ganiel from Abbey AC was the bronze medallist. The men's
championship was a much tighter affair with Clare's Seamus Power
leading from the gun but never establishing an unassailable lead.
His nearest rival was local favourite Paul McNamara of Athenry
AC, twice a winner of this championship in the past, who gave
chase throughout. Paul had narrowed the gap to just five seconds
at the finish but could do no better. Cork native Alan O'Shea of
Bantry AC who won this event twelve months ago had to settle for
third place this time.

Race hosts Athenry AC attracted many compliments for their
stewarding of the race and their strong representation in the
competition itself. No fewer than forty-seven local runners took
part in the colours of Athenry AC. There was also a strong entry
from the other Galway clubs including Galway City Harriers,
Craughwell AC, Tuam AC, Loughrea AC and Clare River Harriers. It
had been fifty years since the East Galway town had hosted such a
prestigious athletics Championship and a small number of the
athletes who had competed in 1958 were there to witness events
this Sunday all those years later. Derrydonnell AC's Tommy
Madden was able to swap memories with the evergreen Harry Gorman
of Donore Harriers about that historic race in Mellows College
fifty years ago.

Amongst the various age divisions there was further success for
Galway runners. Athenry AC's Ann Carter claimed a bronze medal
in the highly competitive V2 division while Bernie Kelly and
Martin McEvilly from Galway City Harriers and Andrea Ridge from
Tuam AC were medallists in their respective divisions. Gerry
Forde from Blarney Inniscarra AC was first home in the wheelchair

Outgoing President of the AAI Michael Heary, who was officiating
at his last National Championship Event complimented athletes and
organisers on a highly success, safe and enjoyable day's racing.

Results Summary:

Individual Men

1. Seamus Power (Kilmurray/Ibrickane AC) 30:27
2. Paul McNamara (Athenry AC) 30:32
3. Alan O'Shea (Bantry AC) 31:14

Individual Women

1. Orla O'Mahony (Raheny Shamrocks) 35:20
2. Caitriona Jennings (Rathfarnham WSAF AC) 36:51
3. Gladys Ganiel (Abbey AC) 37:06

Senior Team Men

1. Rathfarnham WSAF AC
2. Raheny Shamrocks AC
3. Letterkenny AC

Senior Team Women

1. Donore Harriers AC
2. Sportsworld AC
3. Mayo AC

For more race details see or .

Email enquiries to [email protected] .