Galway Twilight

Galway Twilight

Final Preparations Being Made

Preparations are in their very final stages for a great night’s athletics in Galway on next Saturday evening the 8th of July starting at 5:00pm. Some of the best runners from both home and abroad will be traveling to Galway for the Galway Twilight Track and Field Meet and to take their chances around the University Track in Dangan. Some very competitive races are in prospect and more details of the fields as they stand are given below. Organisers will still accept entries for the invitational races from suitably qualified athletes.

The schedule also includes five open races for recreational runners and entries will be accepted for these races up until and including the evening itself. If you’d like to get involved just send an email to [email protected] giving your name and preferred event. Check out the schedule of races below, there’s sure to be one that suits.

For those unfamiliar with Galway a map giving directions to the track is given Here! A larger version of the map is also attached if needed.



5:00pm Men Mile B - Open

5:15pm Women Mile B ”“ Open

5:30pm Senior Women 3,000m - Open

5:45pm Senior Men 5,000m - Open

6:25pm Women Mile A - Open

6:45pm Senior Men A Mile - Invitational

(Subject to qualifying time 04:20 Mile or Equivalent)

7:00pm Senior Women 1,500m - Invitational

(Subject to qualifying time 4:50 1,500m or Equivalent)

7:20pm Senior Men 5,000m - Invitational

(Subject to qualifying time 15:30 5k or Equivalent)


5:15pm Senior Women Long Jump - Open

5:45pm Senior Men Long Jump - Open

6:15pm Senior Women High Jump - Open

6:25pm Senior Men Shot Put ”“ Open

Invitational Fields

These Fields Are Not Final

5,000m Men

Name Club

1 Ben Noad Highgate Harriers / England

2 Brian McMahon Carraig na bhFear

3 Conor McGee Lucan Harriers A.C.

4 Dave Mitchinson Newham & Essex Beagles / England

5 Eamonn Hornibrook GCH

6 Fergus Meade East Cork

7 Gary O'Hanlon Clonliffe Harriers

8 Gary Thornton Galway City Harriers

9 Isaac Kiprop Uganda

10 Joe McAllister St.Malachys

11 John Eves DSD

12 Mark Kenneally Clonliffe Harriers

13 Michael O'Connor GCH

14 Mick Clohissey Raheny Shamrocks

15 Paddy Cassidy Glaslough Harriers

16 Patrick Hamilton Annadale Striders

17 Paul Fleming Rathfarnaham/SAF

18 Paul McNamara Athenry A.C.

19 Sean Connolly Tallaght

20 Stephen Hepples Newham & Essex Beagles / England

21 Thomas Maunsel Leevale AC

22 Tom Carey Limerick AC

3,000m Women

Name Club

1 Ann-Marie Hickey Raheny Shamrock AC

2 Aoife Talty Raheny Shamrock AC

3 Breffini Twohig DSD

4 Brid Ni Chonnail Raheny Shamrock AC

5 Caitriona Hooper Raheny Shamrock AC

6 Eimear O'Brien Sligo AC

7 Niamh Devlin DSD

8 Orla Drumm UCC

9 Regina Casey GCH

10 Nicola Ni Ceallaigh GCH

Mile Men

Name Club

1 Brian Farrell Sli Chulainn

2 Colin Costello Star of the Sea AC / University of Arkansas

3 Darren Gauson City of Edinburgh /Scotland

4 David Kelly Sligo AC

5 Emmett Dunleavy Sligo AC

6 Eugene O'Neill Crusaders AC

7 Jason Broderick Loughrea AC

8 Mark Kirwan Raheny Shamrocks

9 Mark Pollard City of Edinburgh /Scotland

10 Martin Conroy Sligo AC

11 Ricard Corcoran Raheny Shamrocks / Villanova University

12 Joe Sweeney DSD

13 Kevin Lalor St. Lawrence O'Toole

14 Dermot McDermott Sligo AC

15 Gareth Coughlan Crusaders

16 Alan McCormack DSD

17 Steven Vernon Stockport AC / England

18 Brian Maher Kilkenny City Harriers