Mayfly 10KM Results and Report

Published in Results on 19th June 2014

From the Race Director:

The third Mayfly 10k, was held on Saturday May 24th in cloudy weather with a fairly stiff breeze to boot.  With the usual mix of competitive runners and local people hoping to complete their first 10k race, there was a super atmosphere in the town. With the previous years’ winners absent, the race organisers were unsure who to expect over the finish line in first place. A number of Galway City Harrier singlets were visible on the start line so smart money was on one of these! Last year’s female winner, Sinead Brody, was back to defend her title and with her recent form in the 5k series she was going to be a force to contend with! Local athlete Emer O’ Connell, Corrib AC, had a great novice cross country but picked up an early season injury and had only returned training a few weeks prior.

Moycullen cyclist, Paraic Benson, once again offered his services and led the first male around the course and it was indeed a GCH man who rounded the final corner in first place.  Matt Bidwell was first to cross the line in a very fast time of 33’43’. He had been overheard on the start line saying he was taking it easy that day. We shudder to think what he could have done had he been racing!!!  Matt had a formidable lead over the entire field but the next 3 males over the line were separated only by 30 seconds. Second place went to James Ferry, with Larry Kelly of Moycullen taking 3rd. Just outside the podium was Colm Conway, also of Moycullen. In a course record for the ladies, Sinead Brody came home in a blistering time of 39’46, almost 2 mins than her time of 41’44 last year.  Well done Sinead on such a huge improvement! 2nd lady home was Deirdre Brophy in a time of 43’37, with the third place lady Síle Dirrane putting in a time of 44’01.  This was the first time the top 3 ladies finished under 45 minutes showing the improving standard of ladies racing.

Local DJ Aidan Kenny playing outside the Boat Inn afterwards was the perfect accompaniment to the post-race BBQ and the sun even glinted through a number of times. The race organisers would like to thank Gala Food and Welby’s filling station, the Boat Inn, Mulberrys Restaurant and SSE Airtricity for their support.  Thank you too to all the volunteers who helped in so many ways to ensure the continued success and safe running of the event. We hope to see you all back again in 2015!!

Male  Female
Matt Bidwell 33:44  Sinead Brody 39:46
James Ferry 38:27  Deirdre Brophy 43:38
Larry Kelly 38:38  Sile Dirrane 44:02
Sean Nee 39:01  Eimear O' Connell 45:19
Padraic O' Connell 47:33  Dettie Cannon 1:16:06
Martin Kearney 39:55  Norah Dirrane 1:32:30 (walker)

Overall Team  Fastest Workplace
The Happys  The Welby Warriors
Martin Kearney  Louize Welby
James McKenna  Sean Gibbons
Larry Kelly  James McConnell

Fastest Family  Fastest Locality
The Tristers  Raha Ramblers
Martha Linnane  Eimear O' Connell
Maureen Linnane  Enda Gannon
Caitriona Linnane  John Walsh

Full race result can be found here.