The 10th Headford 8KM Road Race ran without a hitch last evening (Saturday).  

The course is now seared into the collective memory of any road runner in Galway.  

Starting on the dot of 7PM, it wound it way through the village and out on to main road to Galway, as well as the rolling countryside of Ballyrikard, Cloghanover, Clooneen (passing Campbells at 3.5KM), Liss, Deerpark, Racepark and back into town to finish near the village square.

Matt Bidwell of GCH won the race in 25:55 and had over four minutes to spare over second place Darragh McShane of AAC, who was just ahead of third man, sorry first woman, Jane Ann Healy (Meehan) also of AAC.

Over 250 finished the race and many retired back to the welcoming embrace of Headford GAA's complex for copious amounts of refreshments.

Eamon Walsh presented the prizes with the other race organisers/helpers including AAC's own Gary Doherty, John Devlin (GCH), John King and Fergal Flynn on hand.  Fair play to all on an excellent show.

A full race result can be found here.