Galway 5km Series - Ballybrit Racecourse

Published in Results on 26th April 2016

It's that time of the year again, the much loved Galway 5km series! For the past number of years the first leg has been hosted by Athenry AC. This year GCH kicked off the series by hosting the event in Ballybrit Racecourse. A cold and windy night but it was dry (with the exception of a few drops!) so we had very little to complain about! 727 athletes lined up at the racecourse to take on a variety of terrains over the 5km distance. There was a headwind which was challenging on parts of the one and a half loop course, a new route from 2014. It was great to see so many familiar faces returning again this year to take part in this popular event! Men's Results: Philip Niland, Celbridge AC 16:55 Owen Byrne GCH 17:00 Timmy Glavey Mayo AC 17:09 First Athenry man home was Fergal Walsh finished 5th overall 17.24. Women's Results: Athenry AC took the honours for the ladies as Deirdre Brophy sailed home in 19:39 finishing 53rd overall. Caroline Whiriskey Loughrea AC 20:09 Martina Dempsey 20:14 Wheelchair Category: Jerry Forde 32:17 PB's Kieran Walsh 19:35 Aoife Shaughnessy 24:14 Caroline Freeney 26:40 Hopeful more to follow! Results New week...Craughwell! Report: Anne Lyng