New Inn's 5th annual road race took place today. There was good running conditions for the race as 261 runners, joggers and walkers took on the one loop course. The rain held off for the duration of the race allowing most of the competitors to complete the course and get home dry! Numbers were down on last year but there was still a great turn out and great support.

Results: Wheelchair Shaun's Bocquet Craughwell AC 17:12 (finished 3rd overall)

Men Almost a photo finish as Timmie Glavey won the race crossing the line in 16:56 just 1 second ahead of last year's winner Damien Larkin, Craughwell AC 16:57. In third place Kieran McClearn 17:44 (finished 7th last year in 18:47)

Women Finishing second in 2015 Colette Glennon was victorious this year in a time of 20:11. Toui Mac Chartaigh taking second place recorded a time of 20:59 and only seconds behind Deirdre Devane from Craughwell AC took 3rd place finishing in 21:07

From Athenry AC Drew Davison finished 11th overall clocking 18:38, Niall Hardiman 18:59, Ronan McCarthy 19:04, Brian Somers 19:15, David Noone 20:28, Patrick Forde 20:47, John Daly 21:07, James Lundon 21:42, Therese Noone 25:04 and Claire Forde 26:12.

Results: Photos on our FB page.

Report: Anne Lyng