The Streets of Galway 8km - 8th August 2015

Published in Reports on 9th August 2015

This year saw the 30th anniversary of the Streets of Galway 8km road race. Since its inception in 1986 the event has grown in to one of the most prestigious road races in the country, yet remains true to its original motto of Sport for All, as many locals and visitors continue to run the event annually.

Almost 2,400 lined up on Fr. Griffin Road to run the well know route through the streets of Galway. In the first km the route passes the Spanish Arch, Quay St. and the Druid Theatre. Eyre Square makes for a distinctive 1km marker and the 2km marker is at the landmark Galway Cathedral. The course then takes you out towards Salthill, past Pearse Stadium and then back in on the 'Prom' along Galway Bay for the last 2.5 km. With the wind (usually) at your back this is a very fast section, before a final sprint into the South Park finish line.

Just shy of 70 from Athenry Athletic Club took part in this year's event. The traditional club photo was taken by Kenneth O'Hara prior to the race. The weather looked favourably on us as the rain held off for the duration of the race following a day of frequent and heavy showers. There was the usual strong support across the route with cheers of encouragement for the athletes as they ran through the streets.

Local athlete and first-time winner Gary Thornton (GCH) crossed the finish line in 23.53. In second place Sergiu Clobanu (Clonliffe Harriers) was less than 20 seconds behind finishing in 24.12. In third place from St Johns AC, Kenneth Rodgers completed his race in 24.58. Returning "streets" winner from 2012 Maria McCambridge (Dundrum South Dublin) finishing 10th overall won the women's race in 26.58 improving on her 2012 time by over 20 seconds. Regina Casey (GCH) was in second place in 28.55 and following hot on her heels was Jane Ann Healy (Athenry AC) finishing 3rd in 28.59, knocking over 30 seconds off her PB for this distance.

Other PB's include a very happy Mary Rohan who knocked an incredible 2 mins off her previous 8km PB by clocking 36.08, Lorna Freeman also delighted with her time 39.01 running her first sub 40min 8km, Sonya Broderick (Fit4Life) ran the race for the first time and was delighted with her time of 54.45. This was Claire Forde's first race of the year having returned from injury, welcome back Claire!

Others from the club to take part include Paul Giblin 28.42, Fergal Walsh 28.48, Ray Somers 28.47, Jane Ann Healy 28.59, David Meehan 29.24, Chris Deakin 30.24, Michael Duane 31.01, Jim Leahy 31.31, Kieran Guiry 31.49, Niall Hardiman 31.50, John O'Leary 32.09, Deirdre Brophy 32.28, Ray Treacy 32.45, David Dunne 32.41, Adrian Fitzmaurice 32.59, Patrick Forde 33.42, Alan O'Brien 33.56, Pat Callanan 34.39, James Lundon 35.27, Tomas Mangan 35.46, Donal Leahy 36.07, Mary Rohan 36.08, Brian O'Donnell 36.55, Brian Burke 36.46, Janet Clancy 36.51, Maire Leader 37.03, Sinead Keogh 38.04, Heather Porter 37.59, Orla Stevens 38.49, Lorna Freeman 39.01, Sheelagh Earls 38.50, Donna Lane 39.38, Marie Mc Carthy 39.39, Anne Lyng 39.51, Theresa Noone 40.08, Brighid Cannon 40.42, Pete Elwood 40.24, Maggie Pomphrett 42.28, Noreen Cooley 41.38, Jane Mangan 42.11, Martin Keane 43.37, James Corbett 43.57, Cheryl Winston 43.15, Marguerite Wilkinson 44.38, Clare Mitchell 44.43, Mary Duane 43.49, Claire Forde 44.53, Assumpta King 44.32, Mary Connaughton 45.14, Majella Cummins 44.55, Marie Coyne 45.06, Ita Carter 47.54, Martin Casserly 47.40, Sinead Cumiskey, 48.20, Louise Duane 48.22, Sinead Reilly 51.12, Pamela Lee 50.42, Claire Brady 51.41, Elaine Glavin 51.58, Aishling Barrett 52.36, Thai Hennessy 52.47, Teresa McGrath 53.41, Susan Corcoran 53.39, Darina Keating 54.18, Diane Collins 54.14, Sonya Broderick 54.45, Olivia Gilmore 54.45, Geraldine Murphy 1.16.25 Congrats and well done to all!