Claregalway 10km - 20th August

Published in Reports on 22nd August 2016

217 runners took part in this year's 29th Claregalway 10km, numbers being slightly up on last year. Ten athletes donned the maroon and white club colours, taking on the traditional one lap loop. Weather conditions were described as blustery but remained dry! For the third consecutive year, local man (he lives less than 200 metres from the start of the race) Matt Bidwell of Galway City Harriers claimed victory, while Regina Casey GCH last year's winner, finished second.  A running club from France who were being hosted by South Galway AC brought a cosmopolitan feel to the race, with four languages being heard during the race: Irish, English, Franch and bad!   Men's Results Matt Bidwell GCH 32:59 Karl Cronin Sportsworld 33:09 Jason Broderick Craughwell AC 34:54   First Athenry man home was David Meehan 36:32 finishing in 8th place overall with a PB of 45 seconds!   Womens Results Michelle McGee Unattached 36:27 Regina Casey GCH 37:19 Sarah Collins GCH 38:23   First Athenry lady home was Mary Kealy 43:35, W50 winner!   Others from the club taking part include:   Gearoid Rohan 36:59,  Adam Leadbetter 37:08 a PB of 28 seconds, well done Adam!  Donal Leahy 42:12 PB of 2 mins! Good man Donal!  James Lundon 46:43,  Basil King 49:16,  Assumptions King 52:37,  Caroline Freeney 55:45 (see article image) and  Teresa McGrath 1:07:00.   Results   Race Report: Anne Lyng