East Galway 4M Result and Report

Published in Results on 18th November 2013

Full provisional result from the East Galway 4M (held in Abbeyknockmoy) yesterday, 17 November, is attached.

From the Race Director:

All here at East Galway Athletic Club were very pleased with the turnout for this year’s annual 4 Mile Challenge in Abbeyknockmoy last Sunday. Over 137 people registered for the event with 126 people completing this challenging course. For the 2nd year running the elements conspired against us, but despite that, a great response from other clubs helped to make this club race a great success and definitely one for the diaries.

There were some well known faces in Abbeyknockmoy for this race and a fantastic performance from Galway City Harriers stalwart Matt Bidwell saw him take the win on this challenging course in a fantastic time of 21:10. Matt was followed closely home by Craughwell’s Jason Broderick who finished in 21:24 and Galway City Harriers John Greaney who took third spot in 21:48, just ahead of Dundrum's Kevin Moore and Ferbanes Stephen McKeigue.

In the ladies race Jane Ann Healy from Athenry AC took the honours in a time of 24:37 and she was followed home by native lady Barbara Dunne for GCH in a time of 25:44. Corofin’s Clare Rowe took third in a time of 28:07 with Athenry’s Bernie Mulryan and East Galway's own Deirdre King following close on her heels.

Tuam AC’s men’s team kept up their winning ways on this course by taking the Tony McCormack Perpetual Cup whilst the East Galway AC ladies also retained their hold on the Cathal Moran Perpetual Cup. 

Other Category winners were as follows.

Junior Male Eoin Lyons, Moylough.

O40 Male   John Nolan               Mayo AC

O50 Male   Eddie Newman        Mullingar Harriers

O60 Male   Andrew Talbot         Clare River Harriers

O70 Male   Martin Keane           Athenry AC

Junior Female   Gabrielle Donnellan     East Galway AC

O40 Female       Deirdre King                  East Galway AC

O50 Female       Bernie Mulryan            Athenry AC

O60 Female       Una Browne                  Tuam AC

With representative from GCH, Craughwell, Ferbane, Dundrum, Mullingar, Tuam, Mayo, Athenry, Claremorris, Carrick on Shannon, Clare River Harriers, East Galway, Corofin, South Galway, Ennis Track, Youghal and from the Predator Tri Club, this race is starting to attract more clubs each year and the organisers are very grateful to other clubs for all the support received.

Vincent Conway - Race Director.